Overview: how the European Parliament voted on the TTIP negotiations

25 juli 2015 // Dossier: Europa / TTIP
− door: Eva Müller
  • comment
  • delen
  • tweet
  • e-mail
  • print

Since the discussion on TTIP started in 2013, the European Parliament has adopted two important resolutions regarding the negotiations for the trade treaty. One in 2013 and one last week. What strikes is that there were more votes against the second resolution, but the ratio of the proponents and the opponents amongst the Dutch MEPs remained unchanged.

The European Commission conducts negotiations on behalf of the European Union, and the European Parliament has to approve or reject the final trade treaty. TTIP cannot enter into force without the agreement of the parliament. Therefore the European Commission needs the confidence of the parliament in the negotiations.

In 2013 the European Parliament voted for the resolution to start the TTIP treaty negotiations. The resolution received a large majority of the votes: at that time 460 members voted for to 105 votes against. The majority was formed by the major political groups: The European People’s Party, the Progressive Alliance of Socialist and Democrats (S&D) and the Alliance of the Liberals and Democrats for Europe.

TTIP resolutie Lange

Once the European Parliament has to vote for the final treaty, it cannot be changed anymore. Therefore, in the meantime the parliament is making recommendations for the European Commission regarding the contents of the treaty. Last week the Parliament voted on the resolution Lange, named after the composer of the text, regarding a series of recommendations. The resolution Lange received a support of 61 percent in the European Parliament.

TTIP resolutie Lange

The growing disunity in relation to the results of the voting on the negotiation resolution in 2013 has partly to do with the elections for the European Parliament last year. Since then there are more Eurosceptical parties in the parliament who reject these EU trade treaties, such as the groups Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFDD) and the Europe of Nations and Freedom (ENF).

In addition, a large part of the S&D group voted against the resolution as well. These MEPs are not against the negotiations in principle, but did not agree with the text in the resolution regarding ISDS (Investor-State Dispute Settlement). Also, the Dutch Labour Party (Partij van de Arbeid, PvdA) members, who form a part of the S&D group, voted against the resolution. In their opinion there should have been a clear rejection of ISDS in the text. The chances are that if the TTIP treaty contains the same ISDS terms as in the resolution Lange, these MEPs will vote against the treaty as well.

TTIP resolutie Lange

The following table shows the number of votes per European party. It is clear that the disunity within the S&D group on the TTIP negotiations has grown in the past two years. Despite the growing political opposition the proponents of TTIP have a large majority in the parliament.

Voting results European Parliament on TTIP resolutions

Voting on resolution, 2015 Voting on resolution, 2013
Party For Against 0* Cohesion For Against 0* Cohesion


56 1 11 74% 59 2 5 84%


62 3 5 83% 42 0 0 100%


2 38 1 89%


18 2 3 67%


0 32 1 95%


0 49 1 97% 0 30 0 100%

NI **

1 12 1 7 16 0


199 2 3 96% 205 3 2 91%


116 56 9 46% 126 9 9 81%


0 48 0 100% 3 43 1 87%
Total 436 241 32 42% 460 105 28 66%

Source vote count: European Parliament (voting results resolution 2013, voting results resolution 2015).
MEPs who did not vote are not included in the overview.
* Abstentions. ** Non-attached Members. These MEPs don’t belong to a European party.

The majority of the Dutch MEPs voted for both TTIP resolutions. The voting record of proponents and opponents was as follows:

TTIP_EP_taart_reso_onderh_NL_portrait TTIP_EP_taart_reso_lange_NL_portrait

During the latest voting there were no rebels within the Dutch fractions. As described before, the three Dutch Labour Party (PvdA) MEPs voted against the resolution, as opposed to the majority of the European social democrats.
At the vote in 2013 there were some rebels within the Dutch fractions. For example, the GroenLinks MEP Marije Cornellisen voted, contrary to her fraction, for the resolution, and PvdA MEP Thijs Berman accidentally against it.
Also noteworthy is that the PVV MEPs did not vote during the latest resolution. In the following table a complete overview of the votes of all Dutch parliamentarians is presented:

Voting results on TTIP resolutions of Dutch MEPs

Resolution 2015 Mandate 2013
Name Vote Loyal/
Vote Loyal/
Jan Huitema ALDE VVD For Loyal
Hans van Baalen ALDE VVD For Loyal Not voted
Cora van Nieuwenhuizen ALDE VVD For Loyal
Toine Manders ALDE VVD For Loyal
Jan Mulder ALDE VVD For Loyal
Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy ALDE D66 For Loyal For Loyal
Marietje Schaake ALDE D66 For Loyal For Loyal
Matthijs van Miltenburg ALDE D66 For Loyal
Sophie in ‘t Veld ALDE D66 For Loyal For Loyal
Esther de Lange EPP CDA For Loyal For Loyal
Jeroen Lenaers EPP CDA For Loyal
Annie Schreijer-Pierik EPP CDA For Loyal
Wim van de Camp EPP CDA For Loyal For Loyal
Lambert van Nistelrooij EPP CDA For Loyal For Loyal
Ria Oomen-Ruijten EPP CDA For Loyal
Corien Wortmann-Kool EPP CDA Not voted
Peter van Dalen ECR Christen Unie For Loyal For Loyal
Bas Belder ECR * SGP For Loyal For Loyal
Agnes Jongerius S&D PvdA Against Rebel
Kati Piri S&D PvdA Against Rebel
Paul Tang S&D PvdA Against Rebel
Thijs Berman ** S&D PvdA Against Rebel
Emine Bozkurt S&D PvdA For Loyal
Judith Merkies S&D PvdA Not voted
Dennis de Jong GUE-NGL SP Against Loyal Against Loyal
Anne-Marie Mineur GUE-NGL SP Against Loyal
Kartika Liotard GUE-NGL None Against Loyal
Anja Hazekamp GUE-NGL PvdD Against Loyal
Bas Eickhout Greens/EFA GroenLinks Against Loyal Against Loyal
Judith Sargentini Greens/EFA GroenLinks Against Loyal Against Loyal
Marije Cornelissen Greens/EFA GroenLinks For Rebel
Marcel de Graaff ENF PVV Not voted
Vicky Maeijer ENF PVV Not voted
Olaf Stuger ENF PVV Not voted
Lucas Hartong Niet Ingezetenen PVV Against
Patricia van der Kammen Niet Ingezetenen PVV Against
Laurence Stassen Niet Ingezetenen PVV Against
Auke Zijlstra Niet Ingezetenen PVV Against
Daniël van der Stoep Niet Ingezetenen None For

Source vote count: European Parliament (voting results resolution 2013, voting results resolution 2015).
* Bas Belder (SGP) belonged to the European party EFD in 2013.
** After the vote Thijs Berman stated that he actually wanted to vote for the TTIP resolution.

There is more data on the votes in the European Parliament to be found in VoteWatch Europe. Their data shows, amongst other things, that MEPs from France, Greece, Great Britain and Austria have voted against the resolution Lange in majority.

Dit verhaal is onderdeel
van het onderzoek naar:


De EU en de VS onderhandelen over het Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP), een groot vrijhandelsakkoord. Wij volgen deze besprekingen.